Babar Azam to be included in the list of Elite Cricket Players


Babar Azam scores run at will. He’s easy on the eyes and fits in all formats of the game.
Babar, who turns 25 on Tuesday, smashed yet another T20 century this year, entering into the list of elite cricketers, including Virat Kohli and Chris Gayle.

Both the players have spectacular numbers at the top of fifty-nine one day matches for their individual countries.

Babar Azam’s figures are slightly better than Kohli’s however, it remains to be seen if he continues to stay ahead of Indian captain in the future as well.

Playing for Central Punjab, Babar hammered 102* against Sindh in the National T20 Cup on Sunday. It’s his third century of the year and the record for the most number of T20 centuries belongs jointly to Virat Kohli and Chris Gayle, who have hit 4 centuries in a year.

Babar’s all three tons have come this year from 35 innings. His centuries breakdown is as follows:

  • Pakistan vs. Leicestershire — 101
  • Somerset vs. Hampshire — 101*
  • Central Punjab vs. Sindh — 102*

Here are all the players who have scored the most number of centuries in T20 in a calendar year:

Player Year Innings Centuries
Virat Kohli 2016 29 4
Chris Gayle 2015 31
Michael Clinger 2011 22 3
Chris Gayle 2013 33
David Warner 2011 33
Babar Azam 2019 35
Chris Gayle 2015 36
Chris Gayle 2012 38
Aaron Finch 2018 38

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *